Burning Bridges

I’ve never burned bridges, exactly, but I am the first one to run from a crappy situation that I don’t think I can fix. If a bridge gets burned, it’s the person I’m leaving who sets it on fire. Still, I used to hate that about myself. I thought it was a weakness.

A few years ago, it dawned on me that leaving was often my only good defense when I needed one. And, nearly every time I’ve walked (or run) away from a bad situation, it was the right thing to do. Even when there might have been a better solution, my leaving was still understandable. Stress makes you really nearsighted sometimes.

Apparently, the tendency to run away or burn bridges is an aspie trait. I can see how it would be.

A friend put this meme on her Facebook wall the other day. I wanted to share it on mine, but it would have been “passive-aggressive” of me, so I’ll share it here.

Felted Toy Moster with Flower on White Background

 

Leave a Reply

